Ratings and Reviews
                         SEE WHAT MY CLIENTS ARE SAYING ABOUT ME ON:
____________________________________________________________________________________________

   

As of 2021, we have stopped requesting Zillow reviews from our clients.
Zillow became a competing broker in 2020, completely double crossing the real estate community and breaking their original promise to "only be a non-compete-resource" to our industry. They provide misleading market-value info, mine your info and our clients information too; they even attempt to solicit our clients; we are no longer cooperating with Zillow and their questionable business morality.


Ratings & Reviews

Highly likely to recommend|5.0

12/02/2020 - zuser20141119214211940
Bought and sold a Single Family home in 2020 in San Diego, CA.

Z Stars

I have had the opportunity and pleasure to work with Thomas for over the last 12 years. I initially met him through a colleague at work and was immediately impressed by his level of professionalism, customer service, and in-depth knowledge regarding the housing market.
I leaned on Thomas heavily in 2008 (during the market crash) as I set out to achieve the goal of being a homeowner for the first time. During our initial meetings, he took the time to listen attentively to ensure he understood what type of home I wanted. He made me provide him with a list of my "must have's" vs " I'm flexible on this" along with the style of home I preferred and then we began to search for the home of my dreams! It was not an easy task because I had visualized exactly what I wanted and we both were persistent on making sure we found a home that was very similar to what I had imagined.

Throughout the entire emotional process, Thomas was on time for all appointments, provided an immediate response when I contacted him, discussed various strategies when putting in an offer, and also challenged my thinking a little bit when needed (which is my personal favorite characteristic). I learned very quickly that I can trust Thomas wholeheartedly.
After many tours, he finally found me the house of my dreams for a very low price (2 story / 4 bed / 2.5 bath / 1800 sq ft = $350K). It was even better than I had visualized! Once I walked in I told Thomas, "This is it! Make sure I get this house please!" With multiple offers on the table, I got the house of my dreams thanks to Thomas.

His customer service is second-to-none and he does an excellent job representing his clients.
Thomas recently (2 months ago) help me sell my home (during COVID) and I was still amazed at his knowledge and ability to make sure we received an offer above my asking price. He also made sure all parties followed our strict COVID procedures when touring. I had an offer of my dreams by the second week!

We are now in the process of finding my next dream home and I look forward to us going through the process again together. I've always said that Thomas is a key person in my life that helps my real estate dreams come true. He's not just my realtor...he is a life-long family friend. Without hesitation or reservation,

I highly recommend Thomas as a realtor. He's so awesome that he is my friend's realtor as well. Within my friend network, three of us have Thomas as our realtor and to me...that says it all. He also very strict as it relates to confidentiality. Meaning, my friends did not know I was selling my house until I told them, which is another example of his high level of integrity.
Thank you so much Thomas for all you've done for my family and I and I look forward to continuing business together for many, many years to come.
           


Highly likely to recommend|5.0

10/09/2020 - Victoria Fairbee
Bought a Single Family home in 2020 in San Diego, CA.

Z Stars



Highly likely to recommend|5.0
03/17/2020 - LanceDesouza
Sold a Condo home in 2020 in San Diego, CA.

Z Stars

 
We really enjoyed working with Thomas. He is knowledgeable about real estate all over
San Diego County, has great negotiation skills, educates his clients and adds extra personal touches to the home-selling process.
These include in-person meetings to align on expectations as well as reliable status updates once a property has been put on the market. His friendly demeanor and competent staff make the selling process feel so stress-free. Thomas helped us sell our condo in record time for top market dollar! We highly recommend working with Thomas and will in the future if we have real estate needs again.


Highly likely to recommend|5.0

10/28/2019 - JAGUAR SWCC
Bought and sold a Condo home in 2019 in Imperial Beach, CA.

Z Stars

This is the third time Thomas J Nelson has been my realtor and each time he has done an outstanding job! In 2011, Thomas helped me purchase my first home in San Diego. This was a time when buying a home in San Diego was extremely difficult (this was a short sale). In 2018, I once again requested his services as my realtor and he sold my house at above asking price; and just last month, he helped me purchase a new home.

Thomas is extremely knowledgeable with VA loans and he is all about "taking care of veterans." He is well connected in the San Diego area and will help you with everything related to selling or buying a house. During this last transaction, Thomas went above and beyond to make sure I got my dream home. After so many years having him on my team, he has become more than a realtor and I consider him a close friend. I highly recommend Thomas J Nelson as your realtor whether you are selling or buying a home.


Highly likely to recommend|5.0

03/05/2018 - WeliveinRamona
Bought a Multi Family home in 2018 in San Diego, CA.

Z Stars
We very much appreciated Thomas, both professionally and personally, throughout our real estate transaction and beyond.
He made sure we had all our ducks in a row before we started bidding on properties as we were cash buyers (hence expedited closing). As a result, when we began the bidding process, everything went smoothly and we were in a position to respond quickly and with all of our documentation in hand. Thomas' up front preparation was very instrumental in getting our complete bid packages in promptly. For a brief moment we had a hiccup along the way and Thomas was calm and resourceful, which was invaluable! Thomas gives other RE agents a high bar to match his commitment, professionalism and caring. My husband and I have been so very impressed with Thomas' level of service, honesty and attitude before, during and after our condo purchase! When we are in a position to buy again, Thomas will most certainly be our realtor.

                                                                Zillow Reviews
Zillow Reviews
Zillow Reviews
Zillow Reviews                 Zillow Reviews                       

     
                            Click for Reviews

                                    
                                     Click for Reviews


Yelp

Click The RED Yelp Circle for More Reviews or to leave one.

BELOW are Multiple reviews for Thomas J. Nelson, Realtor that are not currently featured
in the
Yelp.com's news-stream,
(
we don't know why, these were are legitimate SOLD clients). 

You’ll be able to see these (multi-star) reviews on Yelp too, you just have

to look below the “recommended reviews” at:

reviews for Thomas Nelson that are not currently recommended.

 

 

1/24/2018 

I have had the pleasure of meeting Thomas through an SD Chamber Veterans Business Alliance Group that he lea

ds. He is a true professional in the fact that he is always looking for ways to help others. Whether this means helping them to find the home that is right for them, looking for ways to connect quality individuals through networking, or building genuine long-lasting relationships in the SD community. Thomas is your guy if you are looking to establish great community contacts within San Diego.

  • Casey C.

  • San Diego, CA

 

9/29/2017

  I had an excellent experience with Thomas; he is professional, knowledgeable, and beyond helpful! Being in the military I travel/deploy frequently and he was always able to assist even while I was thousands of miles away and continues to assist even after I have closed on my property. I have no complaints about Thomas' service or working with him what so ever. I highly recommend him to anyone looking to buy in the San Diego area!

  • Andrew R.

  • San Diego, CA


3/14/2017
Thomas,


Thank you once again for helping me with my real estate needs. As you know, I'm extremely busy in my law practice, and I truly appreciated being able to count on you to shoulder the weight of listing my home, handling the details and handling the craziness of the multiple offers and escrow. It made it easier at work knowing you had the house details covered.

I was please with the work you did for me, our third transaction, and plan to use your services in the future when I decide to buy again. I would certainly recommend you to my friends and family.

Thank You,

Patrick Monroe
Of Counsel, Best Best & Krieger LLP

  • Patrick M.

  • San Diego, CA


11/15/2016

I just wanted to tell you thank you.  Buying our first house could not have been easier!  It seemed like if there were issues, you told us up front about what to expect and you were always in our corner. 

Our son is buying his first house (in Oxnard) and he is not having the same great experience we had.  There are issues every other day and they have to wait for their realtor to get back to them, sometimes waiting a couple days for their answers.  They didn't ask us before they started this adventure and I really wish they would have - we would have asked you for a recommendation for someone in the area.

Just hearing some of their experience makes me realize how smooth ours was.  Thanks again and enjoy your Thanksgiving holiday with family & friends.

Mary L.

  • San Diego, CA

 


6/26/2017

Thomas,
I can't tell you how much I appreciated your time showing me properties in San Diego. I would refer you anytime! San Diego just was not right for me financially as a single person.

I want to thank you again for all your time and effort and if you ever happen to come to Fort Worth, I would love to cook a meal for you and Ailina.

Merci,
~ Sylvie, Virgin America Airlines


 

6/16/2016

Thomas Nelson is patient and easy going which is uncommon among realtors. He makes an effort to stay up to date with the latest trends and market information which he passes along to his clientele. He has the experience and expertise so his client's can approach every deal with confidence. As his Client, I know that he cares about my interests and I'm not just another commission.

         Steven P.

  • Los Angeles, CA

 

7/13/2015

Thomas was relentless in finding the right property in the location we desired and in our price range. We hunted for over eight months and at times I got a little doubtful that we would find what we were looking for, however, Thomas never gave up and we found what we were looking for.  Thomas is extremely friendly and professional, however, he doens't sugar coat anything.  He doesn't tell you just what you want to hear.....he tells you the truth.

 

          Alan S.

  • San Diego, CA

 

5/14/2015

Good morning Thomas,

Wow, we are in the home stretch!  None of this would have been possible without you. Your expertise, resourcefulness, and thoroughness is making our dream come true.  Thank you so very much for all you do and for being our eyes, ears, and brains in La Jolla. Having you there and willing to keep going over to the property for us made buying in LJ very doable.  I'll look forward to thanking you in person very soon!

Best,
Janet & Michael

         Janet S.

  • San Mateo, CA

 

11/21/2014

As an out of state buyer, I greatly appreciated the efficiency and effectiveness Thomas provided in helping me buy a family condo in downtown San Diego.  He helped me narrow down the options and, once a decision had been made, worked with me to complete the sale from my home state.  He arranged for and oversaw the home inspection/re-inspection/re-reinspection!!  Thomas also made sure I had all the information I needed to get utilities, etc transferred into my name, etc.  The whole process was absolutely painless. As with others, I will use him as a point of contact for tradesmen/women for minor updates/repairs in the condo.   I would definitely recommend Thomas as one of THE BEST ever!

 

  • Linda V.
  • Mesa, AZ

11/21/2014

As an out of state buyer, I greatly appreciated the efficiency and effectiveness Thomas provided in helping me buy a family condo in downtown San Diego.  He helped me narrow down the options and, once a decision had been made, worked with me to complete the sale from my home state.  He arranged for and oversaw the home inspection/reinspection/re-reinspection!!  Thomas also made sure I had all the information I needed to get utilities, etc transferred into my name, etc.  The whole process was absolutely painless. As with others, I will use him as a point of contact for tradesmen/women for minor updates/repairs in the condo.   I would definitely recommend Thomas as one of THE BEST ever!

 

         Linda V.

  • Mesa, AZ

 

11/14/2014

Thomas Nelson is certainly unparalleled in his real estate listing service in excellent professional knowledge, seamless transaction, knowing client's need and above all his personal charm in providing daily feedback.  I am very happy to employ his listing service for my San Diego property.


          Isaac W.

  • San Francisco, CA

 

9/18/2014

I can't say enough good things about Thomas.  We first met him about a year or so ago when we were looking for someone to give us an idea of the current value of our home for some financial decisions we had to make.  Found him through Yelp, called his number and was shocked when he personally answered his phone! Although we weren't ready to sell, Thomas was so helpful and courteous in assisting us with our needs.  I felt so confident of his professionalism that I gave him the name of our neighbor who mentioned she was thinking of selling.  Well, our neighbor signed with him right away, he listed her home, and sold it in the first week....for the FULL ASKING PRICE! When it came time for us to sell, I had the unfortunate task of telling Thomas that we would not be able to use his services (family Trust issues and not my decision). He was so gracious and understanding. No pressure what so ever.  So naturally when we were ready to buy, he was our first choice to represent us. We found a home that was exactly what we wanted. With Thomas' guidance we made an offer on a Saturday, and by Monday it was accepted.  Thomas then guided us through the inspection process - with the help of his tight group of skilled, courteous, and prompt technicians. He suggested inspections that we would never have thought of and BOY were we happy he did!  Thomas then skillfully negotiated with the seller and before we knew it all work was done and we closed escrow in 21 days. WOW!  We're now very happy homeowners and in a "school girl crush" with our new home. I guarantee that you won't regret working with this fine gentleman. He's one smart Realtor, and a really nice guy to boot!

         Kelly M.

  • El Cajon, CA

 

5/15/2014

Thomas and I have worked closely together and I find him to be extremely professional, resourceful and patient. As a property management company we rely on referrals just as much as agents do. Having a successful relationship with Thomas is extremely important to us. He assisted me recently with a sale for a client. He was a pleasure to work with, always on top of what needed to be done to complete the process in the most efficient manner. Thomas will always be on FBS's list of preferred agents! 

Trust Thomas! I do!
 
         Mel M.

  • San Diego, CA

 

5/30/2013

Over the years, I have sold and bought many properties with both good and poor agents.  Thomas is, without a doubt, the best realtor I have ever worked with.  Being located about 1000 miles away from San Diego and trying to sell a house there creates a potential for a real headache.  Thomas was on top of everything from day one, had the house sold within a week, coordinated inspectors/contractors, oversaw necessary repairs, assisted our estate sale lady, and was in constant contact with the escrow company.  Selling this house was not something that I was looking forward to but things could not have gone more smoothly.  I would sincerely recommend him to anyone who is looking to either buy or sell.

 

Alton B.

Cheney, WA

 

3/20/2012

Thomas made it really easy for us to rent a vacation home. We had a difficult time finding one on our own because it was a busy time and had gone through several bait and switch senarios and other realtors weren't as helpful. I am a realtor myself so I know that TJ goes the extra mile and I highly recommend him!

 

         Tina T.

  • North Miami Beach, FL

 

4/5/2011

I highly recommend Thomas J. Nelson to anyone buying and/or selling a home.  When I decided to put my condo on the market, I was not optimistic that it would sell as there were 4 other condos right next to me that were not moving.  Thomas had several offers within 30 days and closed escrow within 90 days.  He was so wonderful through the entire process.  He is professional, knowledgable, and I  now consider him a friend.

 

         Kristin S.

  • Poway, CA

 

 

10/5/2010

I appreciate Thomas Nelsons utmost dedication to customer service, honest and straight forward opinions, quick response 24 / 7 when in need, Thomas highly ethical professionalism and above all the laughter and friendship I shared with Thomas. I would recommend him over anyone out there. If you want your house sold or in need of buying a house, your better off with Thomas Nelson, the best ethical professional Realtor you will find in California. 
Thomas, your AWESOME and you ROCK! Your new lifelong friend Marie

         Marie G.

  • Chula Vista, CA

 

 

 
Read Ash D.'s review of Thomas Nelson on Yelp Read Jason F.'s review of Thomas Nelson on Yelp Read Chris C.'s review of Thomas Nelson on Yelp Read Cyndia R.'s review of Thomas Nelson on Yelp Read Emily C.'s review of Thomas Nelson on Yelp Read Tony R.'s review of Thomas Nelson on Yelp Read Alicia M.'s review of Thomas Nelson on Yelp Read Theresa C.'s review of Thomas Nelson on Yelp
Note: The reviews below are not factored into the business's overall star rating.
  • Casey C.
    • Casey C.
    • San Diego, CA
    •  0 friends
    •  1 review
    5.0 star rating
    1/24/2018

    I have had the pleasure of meeting Thomas through an SD Chamber Veterans Business Alliance Group that he leads. He is a true professional in the fact that he is always looking for ways to help others. Whether this means helping them to find the home that is right for them, looking for ways to connect quality individuals through networking, or building genuine long-lasting relationships in the SD community. Thomas is your guy if you are looking to establish great community contacts within San Diego.

  • Andrew R.
    • Andrew R.
    • San Diego, CA
    •  223 friends
    •  2 reviews
    5.0 star rating
    9/29/2017

    I had an excellent experience with Thomas; he is professional, knowledgeable, and beyond helpful! Being in the military I travel/deploy frequently and he was always able to assist even while I was thousands of miles away and continues to assist even after I have closed on my property. I have no complaints about Thomas' service or working with him what so ever. I highly recommend him to anyone looking to buy in the San Diego area!

  • Patrick M.
    • Patrick M.
    • San Diego, CA
    •  0 friends
    •  1 review
    5.0 star rating
    3/14/2017

    Thomas,

    Thank you once again for helping me with my real estate needs. As you know, I'm extremely busy in my law practice, and I truly appreciated being able to count on you to shoulder the weight of listing my home, handling the details and handling the craziness of the multiple offers and escrow. It made it easier at work knowing you had the house details covered.

    I was please with the work you did for me, our third transaction, and plan to use your services in the future when I decide to buy again. I would certainly recommend you to my friends and family.

    Thank You,

    Patrick Monroe
    Of Counsel, Best Best & Krieger LLP

  • Mary L.
    • Mary L.
    • San Diego, CA
    •  0 friends
    •  1 review
    5.0 star rating
    11/15/2016

    I just wanted to tell you thank you.  Buying our first house could not have been easier!  It seemed like if there were issues, you told us up front about what to expect and you were always in our corner. 

    Our son is buying his first house (in Oxnard) and he is not having the same great experience we had.  There are issues every other day and they have to wait for their realtor to get back to them, sometimes waiting a couple days for their answers.  They didn't ask us before they started this adventure and I really wish they would have - we would have asked you for a recommendation for someone in the area.

    Just hearing some of their experience makes me realize how smooth ours was.  Thanks again and enjoy your Thanksgiving holiday with family & friends.

  • Steven P.
    • Steven P.
    • Los Angeles, CA
    •  174 friends
    •  9 reviews
    •  5 photos
    5.0 star rating
    6/16/2016

    Thomas Nelson is patient and easy going which is uncommon among realtors. He makes an effort to stay up to date with the latest trends and market information which he passes along to his clientele. He has the experience and expertise so his client's can approach every deal with confidence. As his Client, I know that he cares about my interests and I'm not just another commission.

  • Alan S.
    • Alan S.
    • San Diego, CA
    •  0 friends
    •  1 review
    5.0 star rating
    7/13/2015

    Thomas was relentless in finding the right property in the location we desired and in our price range. We hunted for over eight months and at times I got a little doubtful that we would find what we were looking for, however, Thomas never gave up and we found what we were looking for.  Thomas is extremely friendly and professional, however, he doens't sugar coat anything.  He doesn't tell you just what you want to hear.....he tells you the truth.

  • Janet S.
    • Janet S.
    • San Mateo, CA
    •  0 friends
    •  2 reviews
    5.0 star rating
    5/14/2015

    Good morning Thomas,

    Wow, we are in the home stretch!  None of this would have been possible without you. Your expertise, resourcefulness, and thoroughness is making our dream come true.  Thank you so very much for all you do and for being our eyes, ears, and brains in La Jolla. Having you there and willing to keep going over to the property for us made buying in LJ very doable.  I'll look forward to thanking you in person very soon!

    Best,
    Janet

  • Linda V.
    • Linda V.
    • Mesa, AZ
    •  0 friends
    •  2 reviews
    5.0 star rating
    11/21/2014

    As an out of state buyer, I greatly appreciated the efficiency and effectiveness Thomas provided in helping me buy a family condo in downtown San Diego.  He helped me narrow down the options and, once a decision had been made, worked with me to complete the sale from my home state.  He arranged for and oversaw the home inspection/reinspection/re-reinspection!!  Thomas also made sure I had all the information I needed to get utilities, etc transferred into my name, etc.  The whole process was absolutely painless. As with others, I will use him as a point of contact for tradesmen/women for minor updates/repairs in the condo.   I would definitely recommend Thomas as one of THE BEST ever!

  • Isaac W.
    • Isaac W.
    • San Francisco, CA
    •  0 friends
    •  3 reviews
    5.0 star rating
    11/14/2014

    Thomas Nelson is certainly unparalleled in his real estate listing service in excellent professional knowledge, seamless transaction, knowing client's need and above all his personal charm in providing daily feedback.  I am very happy to employ his listing service for my San Diego property.

  • Kelly M.
    • Kelly M.
    • El Cajon, CA
    •  0 friends
    •  1 review
    5.0 star rating
    9/18/2014

    I can't say enough good things about Thomas.  We first met him about a year or so ago when we were looking for someone to give us an idea of the current value of our home for some financial decisions we had to make.  Found him through Yelp, called his number and was shocked when he personally answered his phone! Although we weren't ready to sell, Thomas was so helpful and courteous in assisting us with our needs.  I felt so confident of his professionalism that I gave him the name of our neighbor who mentioned she was thinking of selling.  Well, our neighbor signed with him right away, he listed her home, and sold it in the first week....for the FULL ASKING PRICE! When it came time for us to sell, I had the unfortunate task of telling Thomas that we would not be able to use his services (family Trust issues and not my decision). He was so gracious and understanding. No pressure what so ever.  So naturally when we were ready to buy, he was our first choice to represent us. We found a home that was exactly what we wanted. With Thomas' guidance we made an offer on a Saturday, and by Monday it was accepted.  Thomas then guided us through the inspection process - with the help of his tight group of skilled, courteous, and prompt technicians. He suggested inspections that we would never have thought of and BOY were we happy he did!  Thomas then skillfully negotiated with the seller and before we knew it all work was done and we closed escrow in 21 days. WOW!  We're now very happy homeowners and in a "school girl crush" with our new home. I guarantee that you won't regret working with this fine gentleman. He's one smart Realtor, and a really nice guy to boot!